Wi-Fi?
NEWS
 

  1. Welcome to Fiat 500 Forum : US Fiat 500 Cinquecento Forums General discussion forum for Fiat 500

    Welcome to Fiat 500 Forum : US Fiat 500 Cinquecento Forums - a website dedicated to all things Fiat 500.

    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join Fiat 500 Forum : US Fiat 500 Cinquecento Forums today!
     
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Wi-Fi?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Plantation, Fl
    Posts
    115
    Drives
    2012 Nero Abarth
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 16 Times in 11 Posts

    Wi-Fi?

    What exactly does the fiat autonet WiFi stand alone kit do?
    The dealer cant tell me what it does or if it requires a monthly subscription.
    Thanks.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Fiat 500 Forum
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member MoneyMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Greenwood, IN
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BillB View Post
    What exactly does the fiat autonet WiFi stand alone kit do?
    The dealer cant tell me what it does or if it requires a monthly subscription.
    Thanks.

    the kit allows you to have WiFi access anywhere you go in your 500. there is a subscription though. don't know the the prices, but I believe they have 1, 2 or 3yr subscriptions and I think you pay it all 'up front', not like sat radio where you can pay monthly. the subscription price is in additon to the price of the optional WiFi Kit.

    I thought about it but for the $$, I'll just look for a Mickey D's when travelling if I want to use the internet.
    ETA Shipping Date 7/5/2011.......

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to MoneyMan For This Useful Post:

    BillB (07-06-2011)

  5. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Plantation, Fl
    Posts
    115
    Drives
    2012 Nero Abarth
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 16 Times in 11 Posts
    That's what I figured. I was looking to get it but the car I was looking at didn't have it. Doesn't look like a deal breaker.
    Thanks

  6. #4
    Senior Member Triumph's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Yorba Linda, California
    Posts
    469
    Thanks
    250
    Thanked 38 Times in 32 Posts
    Many new smart phones have the ability to be a WiFi hot spot 3G and 4G. This is the same technology. But when you get out of the car the hotspot goes with you and your phone... this is the the better way to go :' )
    Triumph!

  7. #5
    Senior Member Deron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Edgewood, KY
    Posts
    614
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Triumph View Post
    Many new smart phones have the ability to be a WiFi hot spot 3G and 4G. This is the same technology. But when you get out of the car the hotspot goes with you and your phone... this is the the better way to go :' )
    ^ This

    I was wondering though if you did have it whether you could use it to access any firmware updates for the car...that would be very cool.

    BTW, anyone try Pandora thru their phone yet?

  8. #6
    Senior Member Triumph's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Yorba Linda, California
    Posts
    469
    Thanks
    250
    Thanked 38 Times in 32 Posts
    Yep I run Pandora all the time. It is not anywhere near cd or mp3 quality... But I get to listen to my music.
    Triumph!

  9. #7
    Senior Member Triumph's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Yorba Linda, California
    Posts
    469
    Thanks
    250
    Thanked 38 Times in 32 Posts
    Car updates are only available through the dealer at this point
    Triumph!

  10. #8
    Senior Member Mr. Pickles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Va
    Posts
    2,571
    Drives
    500 sport
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 288 Times in 215 Posts
    I use my phone for pandora as well. As previously mentioned, the quality is good, but not stellar. Windows down, tunes cranked it works as advertised.

  11. #9
    Member MoneyMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Greenwood, IN
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BillB View Post
    That's what I figured. I was looking to get it but the car I was looking at didn't have it. Doesn't look like a deal breaker.
    Thanks
    it should be available as a 'dealer installed' option, as it is with Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge and Ram. while it WOULD be nice to have use of my laptop, I guess a smartphone would do......if I had one. I'm just using an old Motorola Razr. I don't need it to text or surf the web, just use the phone for making calls. I have no need to stay 'connected' to anything that I can't do by making a phone call.
    ETA Shipping Date 7/5/2011.......

  12. #10
    Senior Member BigWarpGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    East Windsor, New Jersey
    Posts
    401
    Thanks
    263
    Thanked 51 Times in 41 Posts
    Autonet Mobile. Perhaps it is not just for Fiat? I found the home page for it.
    BigGoofyGuy
    Fiat 500.
    Fuelly.com
    Herb.

  13. Remove Advertisements
    Fiat 500 Forum
    Advertisements
     

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.1.2