Fiat 500 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2015 Fiat 500e
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there! I've been lurking for a while and enjoying my 2015 500e. I am an electronics tech by trade and am working on a home power system. I think it would be wonderful to reuse 500e parts (from a wreck) in the home and was wondering... Has anyone created a high-voltage system block diagram? I'd like to know how the power flows throughout the vehicle to see what can be repurposed. I would also like to know where control of the HVAC system and the power electronics for the compressor resides. Speaking of the HVAC system, is it AC and electric heat? Or is there heat-pump functionality?

I've done some searching and found a thread on documenting the CAN messaging which I think will be helpful, but not much on the HV system. Any pointers would be appreciated.

·
Registered
2013 FIAT 500e
4,004 Posts
The only things I've seen that might help a little bit are:

- Apparently there is no heat pump, just an electric resistance heater.

- It seems like all the HV wiring* & plugs/sockets are orange, so it might not be all that hard to trace the systems yourself.

*Including the 300-400V system (drive battery, inverter, motor, A/C compressor) & also the 100-250V system (chargeport & onboard charger).

·
Registered
2013 500e
135 Posts
I'd like to have a wiring diagram like that myself.
Here are a couple of things I've found useful:
The "Chrysler Academy" training manual for Fiat techs. It's officially called the "Fiat 500e Battery Electric Vehicle Operation and Diagnosis"
Unfortunately it's too big to upload here. Ideas anyone? I'd be happy to share it.

The other resource is a bunch of videos posted about EV's in general on "Evolving World" channel. He does a complete teardown of a 500e and blogs everything. Good pics of whats going on.
This should link to the battery pack teardown:
battery pack teardown