Fiat 500 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can you guys give me sound advice because i am lingering between fixing my fiat or tossing it for a another car? I'd had my 2015 for 5 yrs and now it decides to act a monkey. I went to the dealer yesterday because my steering column vibrated while driving on the highway. Thought i needed a wheel alignment. I recently had the powertrain replace under warranty, and thought they may have misaligned my car during the process somehow. I also got new tires prior from firestone to the powertain being replace and had no issues. The dealer mechanic told me they could not align my car because my rear axle is bent and i needed struts, insinuating i hit too many potholes, and needed to replace them for $2500. I'm not a mechanic, but I'll turn into one in a sec to save $2500 i do not have. I've read some stories here and notice it's been a problem for years with these cars. How exactly do i fix this problem? Thank you in advance for your advice.

This is the specs sheet they gave me:

·
Registered
234 Posts
Get another shop’s opinion on the alignment (as if never visiting the dealer).
I have a 2012 Pop with BC Coilovers that I installed. So...what rear axle is the dealership referring to on a Front Wheel Drive car?
The Fiat 500 rear wheels roll or follow independently/are not connect by an axle.
I just woke up so excuse my question. As many times as I’ve been under the rear of my Pop, I’ve never seen an (actual) axle.
Are your front wheels exhibiting Toe Out.
I once needed my 500 driven from an airport dropoff resulting in a later need for a control arm replacement. Still cannot imagine the size of THAT pot hole. Put up photos of your front wheels from front of car when possible.
And check your lug bolts. Stripped/not secure lug bolts will have you thinking all sorts of car woes.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3