Fiat 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
500Madness has chrome bumpers for the North American Fiat 500 so I ordered them. What do you guys think about using epoxy vs. tape? Pros and cons either way? If anyone has any tips on exterior add-ons I'd love to hear them. This is my first time doing this type of thing. :D Thanks!

·
Registered
13,466 Posts
I'd use the tape. Epoxy will hold it on. If the parts, were ever damage. With expoxy it would be hard to get off, and damage the underlining paint. In a tube, there is a 3M automotive adhesive glue, in clear and yellow. Takes 24 hrs. to cure. Tape comes in all sizes and thickness.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'd use the tape. Epoxy will hold it on. If the parts, were ever damage. With expoxy it would be hard to get off, and damage the underlining paint. In a tube, there is a 3M automotive adhesive glue, in clear and yellow. Takes 24 hrs. to cure. Tape comes in all sizes and thickness.

I'm leaning towards 3M automotive tape, I was concerned about the epoxy potentially damaging the paint underneath.

Just ordered this:
http://www.amazon.com/3M-Company-Molding-03609Na-Automotive/dp/B001B0QC3M/ref=sr_1_1?s=automotive&ie=UTF8&qid=1316113002&sr=1-1

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The tape gets my vote, that stuff is the "tape of the gods" according to a guy I know that does PC mods. I use it for a few things and have been pretty happy with the results, one thing to consider is it may be affected by heat, I cannot say for certain however.
Awesome, thanks tweak, I live in SF so hot weather is not an issue. My chrome parts shipped today, can't wait to stick'em on!

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 · (Edited)
Just got my front chrome bumpers and I'm a little confused.