Fiat 500 Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,059 Posts
I'm a complete newbie here - so please forgive how shitty this comes across. I threw on a less than $250 set of Eibach lowering springs on my car and I couldn't be more thrilled with it for a daily driver as far as handling and lowering. Can someone please explain the advantage to coil overs to the tune of 5 plus times the expense? I honestly don't get it but I'd like to understand what I'm missing!

·
Registered
1,000 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
With coilovers you have the ability to adjust ride height to where you want it. Adjust each corner for weight balance, and stiffness. Improve handling further then just springs.

If you have a daily driver, and only want to lower the car, get springs. If you want more control, and functionality, get coilovers

·
Registered
124 Posts
pretty much perfectly explained. That said. Ive had coilovers on my daily driver for a few years now :p

·
Registered
1,059 Posts
It's a great explination - exactly what I was looking for. If I were autocrossing I can see the advantage. But as a daily driver it makes no sense whatsoever to go that route for the huge price difference. Thanks for the info!

·
Registered
117 Posts
With coilovers you have the ability to adjust ride height to where you want it. Adjust each corner for weight balance, and stiffness. Improve handling further then just springs.

If you have a daily driver, and only want to lower the car, get springs. If you want more control, and functionality, get coilovers
I'll add that adding lowering springs only has a reputation of causing accelerated wear on stock dampers; coil-overs come with dampers designed to accept a lower ride height.

·
Super Moderator
22,120 Posts
I'll add that adding lowering springs only has a reputation of causing accelerated wear on stock dampers; coil-overs come with dampers designed to accept a lower ride height.