Fiat 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
470 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone cracked the ECU yet? I am waiting for exhaust and or intake mod until someone can change the fuel air map to match the capability of these mods...

Anyone have any news on this?:confused:

Triumph!

·
Registered
1,213 Posts
im pretty sure intake mod won't need an ECU upgrade since the O2 sensor will automatically send the new increased induction figures to the stock ecu and it will in turn do the proper adjustment to the fuel injectors. sort of the same idea when u change fuel grade and the ecu adjust air and compression accordingly.

But im no mechanic so i could be wrong! :)

·
Registered
470 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Wait... are you saying the o2 sensor and the MAF sensor will automatically re-map the fuel, timing, and air mixture on this car to run @ optimum efficiency and power output? I would assume it is like every other modern car... that would benefit greatly from a e-prom flash or chip upgrade/update... whichever the case may be. Like all other modern cars... the 500 is detuned substantially.

The factory finds the spot where they think is the best compromise of power, reliability, and emissions, and that's where they set it.

The people selling performance exhaust and intake upgrades claiming significant hp/torque gains know this... but you will hear nothing of it... because it would bring sales to a stand still if everyone understood this.;)

I know it has been done for the European spec 500... and I know there were people looking into it... I was wondering if there was any progress on the US 500... because I have heard nothing, about it, for more than a month.

I was not questioning whether or not it was necessary or beneficial:D

·
Registered
1,262 Posts