Fiat 500 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So, I have a Level 2 240v EVSE that can step down to Level 1 if it’s on 120v. Is there any benefit in adding a step down switch for the wall outlet I use so I can choose between Levels 1 and 2? I’m very new to owning an EV and have gotten conflicting information online about whether or not Level 1 is better for your battery life in general. That being said, adding a switch would be easy (and relatively cheap) for me if there is any reason it would be useful.

Thanks!
Mike

·
Registered
2013 FIAT 500e
2,171 Posts
Short Answer: In general, the slower you charge a battery, the greater its life expectancy, but even L2 is pretty slow by battery industry standards, so use the slowest method you have time for. L1 fully recharges the average US daily drive overnight, so just switch to L2 when you drive more than that.

Long Answer:
Battery industry charge/discharge current standards are measured in "C" rate. "1C" is zero-to-full (or full-to-empty) in 1 hour. 2C is 1/2 hour. 3C is 1/3 of an hour. Etc... Life expectancy really drops off at 4C.

With its 24kWh batt, 1C in a Fiat is 24kW, but its L2 6.6kW onboard charger limits it to only 0.275C & its only 0.06C on its stock 1.44kW L1 charge cord. 1C (24kW) discharge on a flat road is about 70mph.

Our Samsung SDI battery cells are rated for 3,200 cycles from 100% to 20% at 1C drain & 0.5C charge, at 77 degrees F (25C), by which time capacity will have dropped to 80%. In other words, by EPA specs, after driving 211,000 miles under the above conditions we'd have 73 miles total city range, BUT...: