Fiat 500 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
818 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Interesting...

I know the recommended period between oil changes is 8K miles. I also know the 500 comes with a sensor that tells you when to change your oil, based on your driving habits.

So, I drive very conservatively and today my warning light came on, saying it's time to change the oil. I have just under 3600 miles on the car.

???

Ryan

·
Registered
606 Posts
Hmmm

If you're close enough to the dealership, I guess I'd take it in and see what they say.

Hope everything works out ok.

Regards

Pat

·
Registered
176 Posts
Mine came on too just the other day at right around the same mileage (+/- 3,700). Strange thing is there is nothing in the manual about how to reset the light. Oil looks perfectly clean and level is at the high mark so I'm not too worried but it did give me a good scare when the light came on (I was leaving a light at WOT!).

FYI I'm also a conservative driver but my 500 has seen a few autocrosses, dyno runs and some shakedown testing.

·
Registered
818 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Funny thing is, I already have an appt for Thursday to change it. I wanted to do the first one early. Then the light came on. I'm hoping this means it'll fall under the freebie oil change policy now.

We'll see.

·
Registered
6 Posts
too reset, turn key to on but don't start it, then press the gas petal 3 times within 10 seconds,turn key off, thats it. Mine also came on at 3700 miles

·
Registered
88 Posts
I have an Abarth so I dont know if the oil life is different from the standard 500 but I have done two oil changes, one at 5000km and one at 10000km. I did not reset the oil life either time just to see how far the computer would let me go before an oil change. My oil life indicator just went on now at 12687km.

·
Registered
6,827 Posts
Interesting...