Fiat 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The Uconnect infotainment radio system in my 2016 500e is in a continuous reboot cycle. I timed it and it is almost exactly every 3 minutes that the radio will turn off, screen go completely black for a few seconds, then the Fiat logo come on, and the radio eventually comes on and resumes where it left off. 3 minutes later, it will happen again.

I did activate Sirius XM on Nov 3rd. Shortly after the problem started.

I found an old thread that seems to be related:
https://www.fiat500owners.com/threads/2015-radio-locking-up.137321/

Anyone else have this problem? Anyone know of a fix for it? I've already disconnected the 12V negative battery terminal and let the car sit for an hour thinking that might fix it. Nope.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,951 Posts
The Uconnect infotainment radio system in my 2016 500e is in a continuous reboot cycle. I timed it and it is almost exactly every 3 minutes that the radio will turn off, screen go completely black for a few seconds, then the Fiat logo come on, and the radio eventually comes on and resumes where it left off. 3 minutes later, it will happen again.

I did activate Sirius XM on Nov 3rd. Shortly after the problem started.

I found an old thread that seems to be related:
https://www.fiat500owners.com/threads/2015-radio-locking-up.137321/

Anyone else have this problem? Anyone know of a fix for it? I've already disconnected the 12V negative battery terminal and let the car sit for an hour thinking that might fix it. Nope.
Hello abenusa,
We certainly understand why this would be concerning! Please reach out to us privately with your VIN and we can get started connecting you with a Specialist.
Laura
FiatCares
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hello abenusa,
We certainly understand why this would be concerning! Please reach out to us privately with your VIN and we can get started connecting you with a Specialist.
Laura
FiatCares
Thank you. I have started a private conversation with you that includes my VIN and all relevant information.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I thought I would post the resolution to my infotainment continuous reboot cycle. Laura from FiatCares on this forum was kind enough to get the ball rolling, collected my information and got me a case number. Then Deidre from US Customer Car FCAgroup.com contacted me and requested the same information, which I gave. I did not hear back so I both emailed and called Deidre. Deidre never got back to me so she dropped the ball.

In the mean time I went to the DriveUconnect website and downloaded the firmware for the radio. It is Uconnect 5.0 MY16 RA2C 11.00.09.00 FF BEV with a release date of 2015-11-16 . Then I started the firmware update process. The screen on my Uconnect radio said that I had the same version already installed (11.0.9.0). With nothing to lose, I decided to install the same version anyway.

The reinstall of the firmware was successful and the continuous reboot cycle problem was fixed. All functions on the infotainment system, including the TomTom navigation, is working again.

Interestingly this problem cropped up around November 3rd. This was the day I had Sirius XM radio activated and it was also the the same date that there is the 1024 week rollover issue with GPS receivers. Maybe one of these things caused the issue? I might never know.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
In the mean time I went to the DriveUconnect website and downloaded the firmware for the radio. It is Uconnect 5.0 MY16 RA2C 11.00.09.00 FF BEV with a release date of 2015-11-16 . Then I started the firmware update process. The screen on my Uconnect radio said that I had the same version already installed (11.0.9.0). With nothing to lose, I decided to install the same version anyway.
Thanks for letting us know, I have a similar problem on a customers car, but the DriveUconnect website doesn't provide me a firmware update - your vehicle is up to date is what I get when checking for an update using the VIN.
Could you let me know how you've been able to get access to the update, or could you give me access to the downloaded file?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I've responded to your PM with a link to a Dropbox folder. Once you have the files, let me know.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Kinda late. But I allowed the stereo to connect to my phones data via usb. After a few reboots it updated and fixed. Kinda like updating a game console. Allow Uconnect access to your phones internet so it'll update itself.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Hi, this happened to my 2016 500e for the first time today. Was a resolve ever discovered?

Thanks.

Hello abenusa,
We certainly understand why this would be concerning! Please reach out to us privately with your VIN and we can get started connecting you with a Specialist.
Laura
FiatCares
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,951 Posts
Hi, this happened to my 2016 500e for the first time today. Was a resolve ever discovered?

Thanks.

Hi, I'm sorry to hear this. If you would like any additional assistance, our team is always available via private message!

Alison
AlfaRomeoCares
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
مرحبا بسيارتي فيات 500 e عند تشغيل الراديو لا يعمل ، يظهر فقط شعار فيات ولا أستطيع السيطرة عليه أو أي إجراء ما هو السبب ومن لديه الحل لهذه المشكلة
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Hello my Fiat 500 e when the radio is turned on does not work, only the Fiat logo and I can not control it or any action appears What is the reason and who has the solution to this problem?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
For those of you having problems. Have you tried the following?
Disconnect the 12V battery, wait 30 minutes, and reconnect. See if that fixes it first.
Next thing to try is reflash the infotainment system with the firmware available on the Uconnect website.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Disconnect the 12V battery, wait 30 minutes, and reconnect. See if that fixes it first.
Next thing to try is reflash the infotainment system with the firmware available on the Uconnect website.
Hi dear

I had tried to disconnect the battery for 30 minutes but unfortunately not work ,
For reflash the information system can you please let me know how I can do it
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Hi dear

I had tried to disconnect the battery for 30 minutes but unfortunately not work ,
For reflash the information system can you please let me know how I can do it
 
1 - 20 of 33 Posts
Top