Fiat 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
588 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there!

What would your top three (of four) recommendations be to a complete newbie to modifications for a 2012 FIAT Sport, on a budget? Things that you think/feel would have to most bang for the buck? I have no experience with modifications at all, not with this car, not with any car.

Would it be an air filter? Liftgate leather handle? Coilovers? haha :D (Mind you, I only "know" what coilovers are by reading the posts here.) Clear bra (ditto)?

If you had a friend who was interested in dipping her toe into modifications of her new car and turned to you for advice (and she didn't want, or have the means, to go really nuts), what advice would you give her? (Or him, your friend could be a him, too.)

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,780 Posts
My simple suggestion would be, since you live in the L.A. area, is to visit 500Madness. I'm sure they'd be more than happy to make some professional suggestions.

·
Registered
4,580 Posts
all about budget

·
Registered
3,599 Posts
and what you prefer and what you are willing to compromise in the process

·
Registered
168 Posts
And what your actual needs are...

for me, it was about protecting her exterior from the awful CO road debris so the first thing I bought was the clear bra.

Next, it was about seeing into my darn glove box, lol, the mini led light setup (cheapest mod ever!).

Then it was making it through the CO winter commute, so a really good set of full on snow tires.

Normally, I'd upgrade the brake pads right away as well but I am pretty impressed with the stockers (kept me out of an accident that occurred right in front of me) so I'll leave them for now.

My car already came with the stainless steel 500 door sills and window tint (both pre-installed prior to us finding her at the TX dealer) and I really like both...except trying to back anywhere at night without lights around, dang that's dark, lol!